South Asian Union (SAU) "Proposal To Build A South Asian Union"



Saudi Arabia  YemenOmanUnited Arab Emirates QaterBahrainKuwaitIraqJordanLebanonPalestineSyriaTurkeyCyprusIranAzerbaijanTurkmenistanUzbekistanKazakhstanKyrgyzstanTajikstanAfganistan
PakistanIndiaNepalBhutanBangladeshSrilankaMaldivesMyanmarThailandLaosCambodiaVietnamMalaysiaSingapureIndonesiaBruneiChainaMongoliaNorth KoreaSouth KoreaJapanPhilippines


Capital : Delhi

General Information

Population : 1.027 billion (2001)

Area : 3.3 million square kilometers

Official languages : 17 major languages, 844 dialects

Currency : Rupees (One Rupees=100 paise)

Main Cities : Bombay , Calcutta , Bangalore , Surat .


Form : Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democratic Republic, Parliamentary, based on universal adult franchise

Head of government : Presidents

Legislature : Parliament, consists of President and the two Houses, known as Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and Lok Sabha (House of the People)

Executive : Consists of President, Vice-President and Council of Ministers led by the Prime Minister

Judiciary : Independent of executive

National economy :

GDP : 1,100 (US$ bln.) 1994

Per capital income : 1,220

Industries : Fuels, Metals, Machinery, Textiles...

Main Exports :  Fuels, Metals, Machinery, Textiles...


Urban : 3.0 % (1993)

Major religions : Hinduism, Islam, Christianity, Buddhism.

Sex : 531,277,078 men and 495,738,169 women.

Life Expectancy : 61


<TITLE>South Asian Union (SAU) "Proposal To Build A South Asian Union"
This Site Is Best Experienced With Internet Explorer & 1024 x 768 High Color (16bit).

Copyright © South Asian Union (SAU). All Rights Reserved.